Mallu land 3: Near home

Over the last three weeks, the power situation in the locality is bad. And by bad, I mean it really is hurting. So embarrasing that its hard to convince my girlfriend who lives in Delhi that I dont live in a small town.

Trivandrum is the capital of Kerala. So what if roads are horrible at the moment and have been this way for quite a while. There was a lot of noise about them a month back. Why? It was Onam-time. The time when those leaf plates get pulled out; the time when everyone goes on a wild shopping spree like there is no tomorrow; the time when a part of the city is illuminated by colourful lights. And therefore, hordes of people are on the streets. Most roads are so conjested that you couldn’t walk, let alone drive. But they made a noise about bad roads. NOW, we actually need those roads more. Every man on the street has his theory about why the roads are not being done. As for me, I am just a spectator. Always have been. A mute spectator. I donot even complain.

I have been learning my lessons. Reinforcing my spectator-ness. Back to the power situation in the locality. The transformer needs major repair. So they switch off the power all day, from 10 am to 7 pm. Towards evening, there are many people who gather around the transformer and watch the workers at work. I didn’t know that contract workers needed an audience egging them on to finish their work. Probably the effect of the T20 world cup. We all saw how the crowds saw us home.

One thought on “Mallu land 3: Near home

Leave a Reply

