Bravura on wheels

In the last three days, I have spent nearly 12 hours in public transport – and they have been among the smoothest rides ever. Compare that with the 9-hour journey from Berhampur to Bhawanipatna/Bolangir. There was no way for me to survive those stretches without popping an avomine and dozing off (after haggling until I was guaranteed a seat not beyond the first two rows).

And scarred and emboldened by those experiences, I prided myself on surviving tough all-nighters on a bus without a push-back seat and cramped leg space. But hey – Ghana is actually spoiling me. Bus rides are not an act of bravery anymore – the kind where I secretly congratulated myself every time I completed one successfully back in India.

Simple fact – Roads in Ghana are awesome – Indian roads are hardly even comparable! I cannot prove this with pictures. But this, my friends, is the truth.

Leave a Reply

