Swatting nonsense away

I had previously posted how silly the debate over Obama’s faith sounded to me. It was also annoying to see how the oldest democracy in the world seemed to not have moved beyond these prejudices and how non-secular this made them sound…

So when I read these comments by Obama on the issue, I felt I should post it as a follow-up:

“I can’t spend all my time with my birth certificate plastered on my forehead” 

“trusted in the American people’s capacity to get beyond all this nonsense”.

“I think my statement at the Iftar dinner in the White House was very clear… that if you can build a church… synagogue… or a Hindu temple on that site, then we cannot treat people of the Islamic faith differently, who are Americans, who are American citizens.”

“How can you say to them that somehow their religious faith is less worthy of respect under our Constitution and our system of government?” he asked, adding he would defend their right to express their feelings just as fiercely

Absolutely on the dot! Well said! Religion is no doubt an important issue for people, be it of any country, but it is sad when government offices have to make public statements regarding a political leader’s faith. So its good to see Obama make this clear.

Leave a Reply

